Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Slow Plan for a restart

Slow Plan for a restart 2 months 2 days ago #72314

• monarchzman
  • Apistogramma agassizii
  • Thank you received: 4
Yea, it's been a while and there have been a number of changes in life, which I can sum up rather quickly. I graduated from grad school and accepted a postdoc in California. Given the move, and the fact that rental property goes for $4+ a square foot per month here, space is a premium and I couldn't take a 75 gallon out here. I'm itching to get back into the hobby, but I'm going to correct a number of problems I had with my old tanks, and try to make a new one as idiot proof and automated as possible.

As such, I'm probably at least a year out from setting up a tank, if not longer (in small part because this postdoc, at the moment is for a year, maybe longer, but I don't want to set up an aquarium for 10 months just to tear it down). The other reason is that idiot proof and automated is expensive. The positive is that I have bastardized some of the equipment from my 75 to help reduce costs (namely a AI Hydra FiftyTwo, Maxspect Gyre, doser, Apex Automatic Feeder). I'm hoping to sell some equipment and get some of the newer Apex equipment to take advantage of a few of the new modules.

So the general plan is to get a Red Sea Reefer Nano tank, stand, and sump. It's expensive, but for now, I want a small tank that could easily be moved, and I want a drilled tank to reduce the risk of floods as well as to take advantage of additional equipment in the sump. I like the rimless look to it as well. There are a number of options, but I decided on this one as well because it's a cube (smallest footprint possible). This is the "easiest" decision. The tank itself is 21 gallons, and the sump is 7, so, in total, it's a 28 gallon system, which I think is about the perfect size for having a decent amount of space but also being able to move it if necessary.